COVID-19 Information

We're here to keep you informed, and care for your health. MultiCare facilities are open for all patients. COVID-19 Resource Center


Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

The Highest-Level Care for Fragile Newborns



Tacoma General Hospital

The Tacoma General Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) provides Level IV care, the region's highest level of care for fragile babies.

Learn More

MultiCare Deaconess Hospital

​MultiCare Deaconess Hospital provides a Level III, 38-bed neonatal intensive care unit for babies born prematurely or with serious health problems. 

Learn More

Safe Transport to Advanced Neonatal Care

Critically ill newborns from across Southwest Washington rely on the advanced services of the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit. To give them faster access to our high level care, the Center has established a unique transport service.

These transport teams consist of specially trained registered nurses and respiratory therapists. Traveling in a specially equipped ambulance, these professionals and their equipment serve as a mobile neonatal intensive care unit to transport the baby to the hospital. If requested, the transport team will respond to a referral facility and assist in the delivery room resuscitation, stabilization and transport of the newborn.

MultiCare’s Neonatal Transport Team is the first ground-only transport in the nation to win accreditation from the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Transport Systems.

Learn More

The Region's Only Level IV NICU

Tacoma General Hospital is the only hospital in the South Puget Sound that can provide the highest level of care possible for critically ill infants.

The Level IV Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) serves premature and critically ill newborns and is the Neonatal Referral Center for all of Southwest Washington. Additionally, Tacoma General is nationally accredited in neonatal transport services and provides care and transportation for more than 750 premature infants annually.

The Neonatal Intensive Care Unit is made up of two units, including the Intermediate Care Nursery. The two units provide different levels of care based on a baby's needs.

Learn More